Feeds:
Posts
Comments

Archive for October 21st, 2007

Staying Sane

There’s this art house movie that I’ve been meaning to rent, about four young Japanese children abandoned and left to fend for themselves.

My kids have gotten used to the idea that mom, however helpful and teacherish during the week, is bloody useless on the weekends. I think it started around the time I started paying the oldest, who was 8 at the time, to watch his baby sister on Saturday mornings, so that I could “sleep in”. I use that term broadly, because I still had the 3 and 5-year olds jumping on my head and poking at my eyes, but at least I was IN BED and not having to go up and down the stairs with the baby, who was insistent on mastering her gross motor skills.

At this point, the kids are so capable and independent that on Saturday mornings, I can sleep in, get up when I want, drink a cup of coffee, do the crossword, go for a run, and have a shower. All I have to do is ignore the crumbs, dirty plates, open bread bags, and sticky knives. There are always lots of children around, making their usual racket, but as long as I am left alone, I leave them alone. It’s a good compromise.I spend almost every waking second with the two youngest during the week, and spend every single evening driving all four of them around, so instead of weekends being family time, it’s me time. The mornings, anyway. The afternoons are yet again giving way to the boys’ basketball games.

The downside of this benign neglect is a very messy house. But it’s a price I’m willing to pay.

Read Full Post »

Shikka shikka

This is “Guy Rocco”, a rainstick/maraca hybrid.

 He’s having his hair glued on. Notice the industrial size Elmer’s Glue in the background. I recommend it for all families with four children. I used to buy multiple packs of glue sticks every single time I went to the store, but unlike the ballpoint pens and drink containers, never did manage to achieve critical mass. This vat was my answer.

Guy Rocco is cool. He’s got a little yarn “soul patch”, and his neck is filled with dried lentils. L is making him for a school music project. They’re supposed to make a percussion instrument. Most kids are making drums out of yogurt containers. L got a little carried away. She’s hoping to have time to put beads in his hair and knit him a little rainbow-colored reggae cap.DSCN0544 Like his little yarn eyebrows?

Read Full Post »

A Cross Section

What the kids have out of the library right now:

  • Explorers of the Ancient World
  • Weird! The Complete Book of Halloween Words
  • Dolphins
  • Roman Numerals
  • The Trojan War
  • Jason and the Gorgon’s Blood
  • Painted Rock to Printed Page..The Story of Writing and Printing
  • Daedalus and the Minotaur
  • Owls and Other Birds of Prey
  • Halloween Fun…Great Things to Make and Do
  • Halloween Magic
  • Spooky Tales
  • Witches, Pumpkins and Grinning Ghosts…the Story of Halloween Symbols
  • DSCN0541

Read Full Post »